Local Goods: Beyond Sushi – Union Square, NYC


splash

If you’re looking for the crib notes version of this post, the cheat sheet, the drool report, the wet dream in your mouth short-cut (too far? not far enough?), here it is: go eat at Beyond Sushi and do it now. Do it right now. I put this off for a year because apparently I hate myself and I don’t want you to make the same mistake. This place is incredible. Now let me tell you why, in great detail, why I plan to eat here once a week and then every day in between and then maybe twice that much.

beyond sushi review

Beyond Sushi is vegan sushi of a higher order. A tiny storefront on 14th street between 2nd and 3rd avenue off Union Square, Beyond Sushi almost glows from the sidewalk. When you walk in, you’re greeted by a warm dining area that’s not entirely well lit but in that this-poor-lighting-is-actually-good-lighting-you-plebe way that makes me go all weak in the knees. Fresh juices and teas and shit are set up in a case alongside insanely good looking chia seed puddings and other desserts that I will have to get more familiar with…biblically. And by that I mean I want to eat them…biblically. Glamour shots of the vegan rolls decorate the walls just like every teenage girl’s bedroom should. And now you’ve been gawking for a little too long and it’s time to order.

beyond sushi review

I got the Combo 2, 2 rolls + 2 individual pieces for $13.50, comprising of The Pickle Me Roll, The Mighty Mushroom Roll, a Teriyaki Tofu piece, and the Piece of the Month featuring eggplant and other awesome things. The rolls are beautiful to look at, comprised of jewel toned veggies encased by contrasting black rice. The rolls are accompanied by their individual tubed sauce pairings – Carrot Ginger for the Pickle Me and Shiitake Teriyaki for the Mighty Mushroom – in a super space aged way which is coincidentally my favorite way to encase sauce pairings.

beyond sushi review

Each and every flavor is distinct and purposeful and ohmygod in my mouth. You just feel good eating it. Happy. Good. Satisfied. Happy again. Someone actually thought the shit out of these ingredients and flavor pairings. Every thing I ate could easily go to the top of my Favorite-Things-I’ve-Ever-Eaten list. I can’t wait to go back and try the rest of the menu. I plan to accomplish this within the next week. Because I foresee this being a problem. A delicious, delicious problem.

Beyond Sushi
the green roll
229 E 14th St
New York, 10003
646.861.2889
http://beyondsushinyc.com/

 

Leave a comment

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

Robert's Kitchen

Vegetarian's Delight

DAG's Food Blog

My cooking adventures

I Dream of Protein

Hearty, Healthy Recipes from a Fitness Fanatic