Local Goods: Steve’s Bklyn Blackout Ice Cream Review


So I’m going to try a new feature on here. Some good old fashioned local food reviews. This could also be called “Hey What’s That In My Bodega?” Or, “Is That A ‘Local’ Sign I See, Whole Foods Shelf?”

Easily apparent to anyone who’s entered a Greenmarket or Whole Foods or Union Market or a dozen million other grocery stores (exotically flavored local mayonaise, you say? not at all ridiculous, you say?) in New York, there are a whole lot of local, hand-crafted, artisan goodies coming out of Brooklyn and Manhattan (and nearby suburbs I’ve been told exist) just waiting for my snide comments. And my tummy.

So I’m gonna eat them.

And then I’m gonna tell you about it.

And just like every goofy food-based reality show, we’re going to pretend that you can actually taste and appreciate whatever the hell I am tasting and appreciating. There will be zero disconnect. Let’s get started!

First off: Steve’s Bklyn Blackout Ice Cream

Described as an homage to the famous Brooklyn Blackout Cake, this ice cream does one of those things that you wish all ice creams would do: mix in good stuff within good-er stuff. It should be noted that my favorite ice cream is Cookies and Cream, so it should come to no surprise that I enjoyed this cake and cream flavor.

The bites without cakes are swirled with chocolate pudding which duh, chocolate pudding definitely belongs in ice cream but it goes with the good and good-er rule. But the bites with cake?

Oh, so I get you all hot and bothered? …and melty? I make you melt?
Stop it. I’m blushing/eating you alone straight out of the carton with a spoon.

Ohhhh the bites with cake. Cake made from local bakery extraordinaire Ovenly. Cake I want to dive my face into.

It makes a mean ice cream cookie sandwich too. If you’re into that sort of thing…

yeah. you may want to stay tuned for this guy.

Where to buy Steve’s Ice Cream if you don’t live near a bodega that sells organic food: Pint Locations

Leave a comment

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

Robert's Kitchen

Vegetarian's Delight

DAG's Food Blog

My cooking adventures

I Dream of Protein

Hearty, Healthy Recipes from a Fitness Fanatic