Bok Choy and Peanut Sauce


Bok Choy and Peanut Sauce

I’m a big fan of putting peanut butter anywhere and everywhere. I eat it straight from the jar, on crackers, over ice cream, off of a person’s body. Like if they spill it or something. On their face. (Can you spill peanut butter?)

Oh and in sauces. That’s where this was going before I let it spiral into Tramptown, USA talk. (I hear the weather there is moderately to severely hot. Get it? Hot? Fuck, this is my life now.) Peanut butter is insanely easy to incorporate into sauces. Mostly you just like, add it to your sauce. But if you want something a little more impressive than your classic Peanut Butter Over Linguine, try this coconut milk based peanut sauce on for peanut sauce size.

Bok Choy and Peanut Sauce 2

You can serve it with any vegetable you like but I’m a big fan of saying “Bok Choy” aloud and I like to announce things to my roommates as I walk around the apartment. Gives off a Town Crier kind of feel. They love it/me.

This recipe makes enough for four if you serve it as a side dish or for two if you want to get crazy with it. (Do people get jiggy with things anymore? I know they still nah nah nah nah nahnah.) To make it a meal, try your veggies and sauce with some baked tofu or over some Shirataki noodles or quinoa. I thought I had kelp noodles in my fridge to serve this over and I did have kelp noodles in my fridge but I tasted the kelp noodles in my fridge and apparently when kelp noodles go bad they just taste even more like the ocean and I did not at all spit out my taste test bite into the trashcan like a child. I did it like a lady.

Bok Choy and Peanut Sauce

BOK CHOY and PEANUT SAUCE
serves 4 for a side dish, 2 for a meal

ingredients:

PEANUT SAUCE

  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • ½” chunk of ginger
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce (use gluten-free soy sauce to keep this sucker free of that gluten)
  • 1 tablespoon lite seasoned rice vinegar
  • ¼ cup of lite coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons powdered peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon sugar or sugar substitute
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes

EVERYTHING ELSE

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil (if you’re worried about fats and saturated fats specifically, replace this with water or vegetable stock and knock off 30 calories for serving. But I like dem fats.)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ½” chunk of ginger, minced
  • 2 tablespoons minced shallots
  • 3 bunches of bok choy (350g or so)
  • some toasted sesame seeds

Grout. I bet peanut butter would make tiling even more fun/delicious…

In a food processor, mince the garlic and ginger for the sauce. Add the other ingredients, one at a time, blending thoroughly after each add in. Feel free to make personal taste adjustments.

Chop off the root ends of your bok choy bunches and pull apart the leaves.

In a large wok, heat up your coconut oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and ginger in there and cook for a minute or so. Add in the shallots, move it around some as you cook it another couple of minutes. Add in the bok choy, tossing it with the oil and other stuff until it’s well coated. Let it cook down. It’ll shrink a whole lot so don’t be alarmed by an initially crowded pan. Cook your bok choy until the leaves are a bright green and the stalks are tender and tasty. Add the peanut sauce, cook til heated through. Take off the stove and top with some sesame seeds. Start announcing Bok Choy time.

NUTRITION
as a side dish
bok choy in peanut sauce

One comment

  1. […] View Recipe Ingredients & Preparation Instructions […]

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

