Vegan Zucchini Cornbread


Vegan Zucchini Cornbread

I have three leather jackets. I love them all. I want a fourth. I have a problem. No, silly, not because four would be too many leather jackets. What are you? Some sort of monster? And it’s not my reliance on fragment sentences. Yet. No. Here’s the problem: on those first few cool days of fall, I get so excited that I can never decide which one to wear. I mean, who knows how brisk tomorrow may or may not be? I have to make this outfit count! Fucking autumn. You’re so damn beautiful. It kills me.

Vegan Zucchini Cornbread

This Zucchini Cornbread is the early autumn leather jacket conundrum in food form. I want cornbread because I have heaps of cornmeal BUT how bout this zucchini I just bought for no apparent reason? I’m about to start school again – I can’t afford to waste produce I buy because spending money makes me feel alive. And if I’m going to make a bread, the end-product of a fair amount of ingredients (see previous statement), should it be sweet or savory? I can’t make on of each . Two breads is too many breads. Who’s going to eat all that fucking bread?! And when’s the next time I’m going to want to make bread?!!

My head is spinning. I’m breathing into a paper bag. Fall is a toughie.

And so I did the thing I’ve only dreamt of doing with leather jackets: I fucking did it all.

Vegan Zucchini Cornbread

This is a cornbread sans actual corn so the zucchini is key to keeping everything moist while still allowing some classic cornbread crumble action. It’s also a great vehicle for pumpkin butter, a substance I’d gladly eat my way out of a bathtub full of it. And the cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla makes you apartment smell like heaven’s heaven. The place angels go when they die. You’ll be looking for errands to run just so can have a reason to leave and return to the aroma anew. Oh it also makes the cornbread stupid delicious. But, uh, do you need me to check the mailbox again or something? Even though it’s 10pm? And Sunday? And we may or may not have a mailbox? Yeah, you’re right. I should do that like 10-15 more times tonight.

SMELLS LIKE MAGIC IN HERE.

Vegan Zucchini Cornbread

ZUCCHINI CORNBREAD
makes 25 squares or so (photos taken of my mini test bread)
adapted from Sarah Bakes Gluten Free Treats

ingredients:

  • 1½ cups yellow cornmeal
  • ¾ cup millet flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons raw cane sugar
  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • ½ cup firmly packed grated zucchini
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seed mixed with 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup almond milk

Today I’m going to wear a nice statement bread with a low neckline…

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Lightly spray a casserole dish or some sort of deep baking pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, whisk together the cornmeal, millet, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and sugar. Set aside.

In a standing mixer, combine the coconut oil and zucchini. Mix in the flaxseed and water combo and the vanilla extract. Beat in the apple cider vinegar. Mix in the milk.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and mix by hand til just fully incorporated. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the cornbread is golden. Let it cool, if you can manage. Top with butter or pumpkin butter or both. Inhale.

NUTRITION
per square: 90 calories // 11g carbs // 5g fat // 1g protein // 1g fiber // 1g sugar

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

