Black and White PB + J Ice Cream Reese’s Cups


black and white pb+j ice cream reese's cups

Have you ever bitten into something not expecting it to be filled with ice cream but that’s exactly what it is? And it’s especially surprising because you made said treat yourself so if anyone should expect a mouthful of ice cream it’d be you? But you didn’t? So is that considered the upper echelons of happiness? Ok cool. Thought so. That’s exactly, word for word, what happened when I tried one of these cups, forgetting that frozen bananas = ice cream. So I’m going to go ahead and rest on my laurels, now. Life’s straight downhill from here. Which leads me to my newfound veganishism…

black and white pb+j ice cream reese's cups

So it’s been about one full week since I decided to take my vegetarianism to a brave new vegan world. Well okay I’m still not technically a vegan. Just like those girls in 8th grade who told everyone not to tell anyone they were not “technically” virgins anymore. (What does that even mean? I was not one of those girls. I wrote the technical handbook of virginity after years of extensive research. i.e. I was totally cute.) What I mean, and what I’m sure 14 year olds named Brooke and Jessie meant, is that I removed the blatant displays of dairy in my diet. No more yogurt, cottage cheese, string cheese, and ice cream, aka 75% of what I eat daily. BUT, and here’s the curveball, I still eat milk chocolate, whey powder, and baked goods. Because bitch ain’t crazy.

black and white pb+j ice cream reese's cup

So what do I call that? It’s more than a vegetarian but I can’t call it vegan. The vegan mafia would have me sleeping with the fishes but like, literally. In a freshwater tank.

Pain in the ass? Is that what you call it?

I bring this up only because of the conundrum I faced in the baking aisle of Whole Foods. There was white chocolate, eyeballing me up a storm. You know the routine. He looks deep into your eyes from across the aisle, insists you take him home with you, to your bedroom, because he’s charming, and then he’s gone in the morning, leaving you nothing but a wrapper? …because you ate him. Are we talking about chocolate still? Because I’m not.

black and white pb+j ice cream reese's cups

Well I decided in that aisle that these Reese’s inspired cups would be totally sick looking if the top half was white chocolate. A little bit of ebony and ivory action. But white chocolate has milk. One might say egregiously so.

So where do I draw the line in this new Pain in the Ass diet I’ve committed to? Then I was all like who gives a fuck, that would look siiiiiick.

So here we are. White chocolate, you’re in. Just maybe pick up the fucking phone once in awhile. I THOUGHT YOU WERE DEAD. On to the making of the tasties!

***For a healthier option, make them with all dark chocolate. You’ll lose 3g of carbs, 7g of sugar, and add 1g of protein and fiber but this is mostly just one of those Molly-wants-chocolate-all-over-her-face deals. So it’s still pretty gluttonous.

black and white pb+j ice cream reese's cups

BLACK & WHITE PB + J ICE CREAM REESE’S CUPS
makes 10 big cups but I think they’d be even better as mini cups…
JUST SOME PEANUT BUTTER AND JAM FILLED BANANA ICE CREAM CHOCOLATE CUPS FOR THOUGHT, YOU GUYS.

ingredients:

    • 2 very ripe medium bananas (can be frozen or not)
    • 3 tablespoons powdered peanut butter
    • dash of salt
    • 2 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter
    • 1 tablespoon jam
    • 4 ounces extra dark 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate OR 8 ounces extra dark chocolate if you want to keep it vegan
    • 4 ounces white chocolate
    • 1 teaspoon coconut oil, divided
    • silicone muffin cups or paper cupcake wrappers

I wish more things were filled with ice cream when I bitten into. I’d bite my dog a hell of a lot more, I’ll tell you what…

Mix 4 ounces of your bittersweet chocolate with ½ teaspoon coconut oil. If you’re lazy like me, you can go ahead and melt it in the microwave. Microwave it for 45 seconds. Stir it around. Then microwave in 30 second intervals until it’s properly melted. Spoon some melted chocolate into your muffin cups and twirl the cup around until the sides are coated with a thin layer of chocolate. I hope that makes sense? Basically, just make sure the bottom and walls are coated enough you can’t see the bottom or the sides through the chocolate layer. Repeat 9 more times. Put those suckers in the freezer.

In a food processor, puree the bananas. Add the powdered peanut butter and a dash of salt. Puree til well mixed.

When the chocolate cups are hardened, spoon a tablespoon or so of the banana mixture into each cup. Add a little peanut butter. Then a little jam. Swirl it a bit if you like. Put everything back in the freezer.

Mix your white chocolate (or the rest of your bittersweet chocolate for yall real vegans) with the remaining ½ teaspoon of coconut oil. Melt it like you did the first back of chocolate. Remove the hardened cups from the freezer. Spoon enough of the melted chocolate on top of each cup to completely cover it, sealing the cups with chocolate. Put that junk back in the freezer. Let it harden for at least a few hours.

When you think they’re hard enough, let them freeze a little longer. Then, carefully remove your silicone cups or your paper cupcake wrappers. FEAST.

The all dark chocolate option...

The all dark chocolate option…

 

NUTRITION
(HA.)

black and white pb+j ice cream reese's cups

3 comments

  1. I’ll try one of each, ma’am.

  2. Melany Lowen · · Reply

    Molly! I love your postings! The food is delicious and you always make me laugh. I also am a vegetarian trying to Veganize things up a bit. Thanks for keeping me company!
    Melany Lowen

  3. I think I might have to try this, but using vegan white chocolate! That would be awesome

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

