Cherry Poppers and Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar Giveaway


Chherry Poppers and Zulka Giveaway

There are a few classic lines from movies that I just can’t get enough of.

“This screen’s getting all blue-y on me.”
“How long have you been a robber?” “Four foot one, sir!”
“Leeloo Dallas Multipass!”
“Now I’ve popped both your cherries.”

skip to the recipe
skip to the Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar Giveaway entry info

Cherry Poppers and Zulka Giveaway

Ok that last one isn’t so much a spoken line as it is a threatening letter left on the windshield of a busted up vintage fancy car cherished by Reese Witherspoon’s dad, William Peterson. (I’m pretty sure that movie was real life?) But don’t let that stop you from believing that I quote it on the regular.

FEAR is a fantastic movie. It’s a movie title that you have to type out in all caps because otherwise Mark Wahlburg will come by and pop both your cherries. Even if you think it’s not applicable to you, he’ll make it so. Because he’s Mark Wahlburg and if you’re not careful, he’ll also slip his hand up your skirt on a Ferris wheel. Even if you’re not on a Ferris wheel. Especially if you’re not on a Ferris wheel.  Wild horses, man. Wild horses.

All this being said, since I’m not going to make a Self-Inflicted Black-and Blue Bruised Chicken Breast to commemorate this fine film (when I do that hit myself in the chest move in public, does that count as quoting the movie? Or just psychosis?) I decided to make some Cherry Poppers.

Cherry Poppers and Zulka Giveaway

cherry poppers and zulka giveaway

Oh man, while I was so busy talking about FEAR, I almost forgot the other very important point of this recipe and since that is all undeletable comedic GOLD up there, I’ll take this moment to mention the other fun part of Cherry Poppers…

Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar!

zulka

I don’t use real sugar very often so this was kind of more of a treat than I was even expecting. The people at Zulka were nice enough to send me the world’s largest a 4lb bag of their Morena Pure Cane Sugar so I’ll never need to casually and adorably meet my neighbors via sugar request ever again. It’s a non-GMO verified product and it actually tastes different from other sugar. Instead of yucky pants white stuff that rhymes with “momino”, Zulka legit tastes like sugar cane. Swear to sugar it does. It’s all sorts of good. So into my Cherry Popper filling it goes!

GIVEAWAY INFO

And into your mailbox it can go too!
Zulka is giving away another 4lb bag of Morena Pure Cane Sugar to one lucky reader who will now finally be able to answer the age old question, Sugar how’d you get so fly?
Zulka. That’s how.
To enter, comment on this post telling me what you would do with every grain of 4 pounds of sugar.
You must be a resident of the U.S. to be eligible.
I’ll pick a winner next week.

Thanks Zulka! SUGAR 4 EVA self-tattooed on my chest! (See what I did there, FEAR fans?)

Cherry Poppers and Zulka Giveawau

These are incredibly good so make sure you get rid of them almost immediately or you’ll be just like me and all hopped up on sugar and cherries and wonton wrappers and ready to discuss the merits of FEAR for 300 words. I mean, it warrants at least double that but whatever. On to popping both your cherries!Cherry Poppers and Zulka Giveaway

CHERRY POPPERS
makes 7 dozen, at least. I’m not even kidding right now. I’m popping 7 dozen of your cherries.

Ingredients:

  • One 10oz bag of frozen cherries (about 3 cups worth)
  • ½ cup Zulka Moreno Pure Cane Sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • the juice from one lemon
  • 8oz reduced fat cream cheese** (or vegan cream cheese alternative)
  • ½ cup milk of your choice
  • big container of wonton wrappers** (or vegan puff pastry or tofu skins)
  • butter** (…or vegan butter), you probably won’t need more than a tablespoon
  • cooking spray

I’m going to beat the shit out of someone in the woods while you make me some poppers, k?

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line some baking sheets with parchment paper as per usual.

Toss your frozen cherries, sugar, cornstarch, and lemon juice in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir it while the fruit cooks down and releases juices. Bring it to a boil then allow it to simmer until it thickens up significantly.

While your filling is simmering, combine your cream cheese and milk in a food processor and blend those goodies. Your cream cheese should get the consistency of the whippable kind.

Take your reduced and thickened filling off the stove. Combine with the cream cheese/milk fixture by hand. (You can do it with a food processor but then you lose some fun giant cherries.

Lay out some wonton wrappers on your prepared baking sheets. Plop a tablespoon or so of your filling mixture in the center. To make a square little dumpling shape, dab the corners of the wrappers with a touch of butter (this is going to be a slippery ride from here on out) and pull a corner into the middle. Moving clockwise, pull the rest of the corners in. Dab the seam on top with a touch of butter. To make fun little triangle pouches, dab the perimeter of the wrapper with a tiny bit of butter and fold the wonton in half diagonally. Press the prongs of a fork along the outer seam to seal it. Finger a little more butter along the seams. Whatever shapes you choose to make, lightly spray the tops with cooking spray when you’re done.

Bake for 15 minutes or until the corners are golden brown. Remove and cool and for god’s sake don’t leave me alone in a room with them.

**Since wonton wrappers aren’t vegan and I’m not in the mood to go to Chinatown in the rain and pretend to know where to find tofu skins, I went all out non-vegan on this recipe. It’s simple to make the modifications to make it vegan so don’t be discouraged from making it just because of the cream cheese and wrappers. I promise dairy-free cream cheese and vegan puff pastry from the Dates in a Blanket era will taste equally delicious.

NUTRITION
cherry poppers

13 comments

  1. If I had a 4lb bag of sugar, I would use most grains to bake cupcakes and cookies with. Maybe make a few caramels too. Im sure a few grains might end up on my counter, the floor, or in a cup of strong coffee.

  2. Rebecca · · Reply

    I use it to make something for my co-op. They are always hungry and 4lbs of sugar might actually do the trick…

  3. Vegan everything in honor of you! Pie. Cupcakes. Cake. Pancakes. Pizza. Etc.

  4. Isabel · · Reply

    I would gain 20 lbs… And bake literally every day. I’d probably give up sleep in the process.. (sugar=energy), and going to work (baked good bartering), and idk probs showering too (unless you count showering oneself in sugar).

    This is why I probably shouldn’t enter to win things like giant bags of fantastic sugar..

  5. Linda I · · Reply

    Just got some cherries from the Farmer’s Market so making these lovelies this afternoon! With 4 lbs of sugar, I’d bake a cake I owe a friend and go back to the Farmer’s Market, buy tons of strawberries and make jam, beautiful jam.

  6. If I had four pounds of that beautiful sugar I would make even more pounds of sugar icing and use it all to cover a playground and/or puppies. For the kids.

  7. Michelle C. · · Reply

    With 4lbs of sugar, I will rule the world.

    1. Michelle C.! You won this sugar giveaway! Please email me to claim your prize/rule the world/get a shit ton of sugar. Just click the “contact me” button on the right sidebar. Also, if you could tell me a joke in your email, it would be appreciated.

  8. Andrea Eisenberg · · Reply

    I would use this awesome sugar to make the cookies for the cookie favors for my son’s totally vegan wedding this winter! I’m doing almost all the cooking for their small wedding, and one of the favors will be a cookie buffet to fill favor bags. Thanks!

  9. I would of course first get a spoon and just spoon it right into my mouth. Then, I may or may not dip fresh strawberries and rhubarb in it over and over again. I may also just roll around in it and revel in the fact that it’s not GMO and tastes like real sugar cane. I would also use it to make bread, cakes, cupcakes, scones and whatever else tickles my fancy.

  10. Amber Gillespie · · Reply

    I would use it to make kombucha!

  11. Laura C. · · Reply

    We use a lot of our sugar to make sweet iced tea but I love to make cupcakes and maybe some peach ice cream too!! Thanks for the chance🙂

  12. regina · · Reply

    I would make brownies! yes 4lbs of sugar worth. Brownies are the best thing ever and I would even have some left for sharing.

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

