Kale Saag Tofu


kale saag tofu

“Hey Molly, what’s that you’re making?” asks my teeny tiny roommate one recent evening.

“Saag Paneer. Except there’s no paneer. But there is tofu. And it’s not spinach. But it is kale…” I answer ironically because I sometimes confuse the words “ironic” and “idiotic.”

“Sooo…” she says, still teeny tiny.

We stare at each other. Me, my roommate, the kale.

“Indian food. I’m making Indian food.”

Then the kale winks suggestively the way only leafy greens can and we all get uncomfortable. But like, in a nice way. I think this is called Stockholm Syndrome?

skip to the recipe and pass a story about smelling things but what monster would skip that?

kale saag tofukale saag paneer

So this is Saag Paneer without the Saag or the Paneer but all the flavors of such. And the aromas. It’s easy and quick to make, another solid way to utilize yogurt because we love yogurt, and full of vegetarian protein, not so many carbs, and just the cutest amount of fat. 5 grams – adorable! Combine it with some rice or naan or couscous or quinoa or cauliflower rice if you’re into that sort of thing. Each portion is pretty giant, however, if you just want a quick and easy little meal.

sale saag tofu

Oh and thank God for those engulfing aromas. My stairwell smelled like a dying homeless person the night I made this (let’s just say that the small dog who lives above me exploded on every single step for 3 floors. Let’s just say that.). Since moving to New York, I’ve become pretty familiar with this specifically pungent odor. But it turns out Indian food clears that shit (too soon?) right up. So the next time you find yourself in one of those subway cars that is oddly vacant but for a crippling smell, just make some impromptu tandoori chicken or something. You travel with a hot plate, right?

Of course you do.

kale saag tofu


KALE SAAG TOFU
makes 4 giant servings
adapted from Sanjiv Dhar’s Indian Cooking: Light and Easy

ingredients:

  • 1 12oz package extra firm tofu, dried thoroughly and cut into 1″ cubes
  • 1 16oz bag frozen kale , defrosted (I tried once with fresh kale and it wasn’t as good. Just some frozen-kale-for-thought.)
  • 100g onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1″ cube of fresh ginger
  • ½ cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 ½ teaspoons curry powder
  • ¾ teaspoon turmeric
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cumin
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne
  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 150g (5.3oz) icelandic skyr or Greek yogurt

I’m sorry I told you about the dog that exploded in my apartment building and that I brought it up twice…

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set out the tofu cubes in one layer on the pan. Spray with some cooking spray. Bake for 15 minutes, flip, bake for another 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and a little puffed.

While your tofu is baking, combine the onion, garlic, ginger, and 2 tablespoons of water in a food processor. Puree to create a paste.

Spray a skillet/wok/frying pan/whatever with cooking spray. Cook the onion paste on medium-low to medium heat for about 5 minutes or until it becomes a little golden. Don’t let it burn – turn the heat the down before the onions get too brown and let it cook at a lower heat if you need to.

Add the kale and 1/3 cup of water to the pan and cook til the kale is completely defrosted and incorporated with the onion mixture. Add the seasonings and mix throughly. Stir in the baked tofu. Add the almond milk and let the mixture simmer for 15 minutes or so.

When it’s thickened some and all the flavors are fully incorporated/adjusted to your liking, remove from the heat and stir in the yogurt.

Serve with a smile and a side of your winning good looks.

NUTRITION
nfp

10 comments

  1. This actually looks and sounds quite good. I might try making it the next time my dog explodes in the house. Oops, my bad — Diesel he gone, and Callie exercises too much self-control for such a thing to ever happen.

  2. Mollywood,
    This looks delicious and the story is fantastic. I’m gonna get naomi on it (if she’ll agree to it.).
    You’ll make an awesome Indian wife.

    1. I can’t wait to be a beautiful Indian wife. Or at least a kind of okay one who maybe let herself go after a few kids.

  3. 1) you’re hilarious. 2) I feel like I’ve had very VERY similar situations with my roommate and kale.

  4. Did you shred the kale?

    1. It’s frozen kale so it’s already good and shredded for you.

  5. Andrea · · Reply

    “saag paneer kale tofu” was my search term. Who would have thought that there would actually be a recipe for it! I made too many modifications to say I made this recipe and it was awesome, but I made kale tofu Indian-style and it was awesome. I used a whole bunch of fresh dino kale and blanched it before adding to the pan (and then used the blanching water for my rice). My tofu also baked much faster.
    Thanks! I’m going to check out the rest of your site to see what else catches my fancy.🙂

  6. I tried this recipe tonight, instead of baking the tofu I immersed it in boiling water for three minutes, as was short on time. Absolutely loved it thank you!

  7. Thanks for this! I searched for “tofu kale saag” and you were the first link. Yours is a GREAT recipe.

  8. […] themed dinner, so I cooked the kale saag tofu, the healthier version of saag paneer, based on Quiche-a-week. My boyfriend helped me grill the chicken that I marinated the night before using PATAK’S […]

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

