Food Review: Smari Organic Icelandic Yogurt


smari-yogurt

So, when I shared my Tabouli recipe a few weeks ago, I made mention of my master grocery list. It’s evolved over time – I’ve learned more about my own personal nutrition goals, I’ve tasted a lot of different kinds of ice cream (frozen kefir! frozen kefir!), I’ve gotten into celery in a big way.

But another, much more crucial change occurred on my list about 9 months ago…Icelandic Yogurt, or Skyr.

Basically, Greek yogurt can go fuck itself these days for all I care. 1) because that’d be totally weird to watch and 2) because it doesn’t even hold a tart yogurty candle to skyr.

Skyr is a little smoother than Greek yogurt (ever had a Greek yogurt that just sorta tastes almost grainy? I have and I don’t want to talk about it), it’s always got 0g of fat, and a shitload of protein. Like woahmygod a lot of protein. Like 20g of protein per 100 calorie 6 ounce serving.

Molly like.

ah yes, the exact scene of all my skyr-y breakfasts except I usually eat mine in the middle of a meadow.

ah yes, the exact scene of all my skyr-y breakfasts
except I usually eat mine in the middle of a meadow rather than a blank void.

So, imagine my utter (udder? Folks? Hello.) joy when I received an email from Smari, a line of organic Icelandic yogurts, offering me a sampler pack. And I was all like, “DUH YES” because that’s how I talk in real life.

My hand-delivered sample pack of Smari featured their line of 4 flavors: Pure, Blueberry, Vanilla, and Strawberry. It didn’t even matter that I wasn’t hungry when they came. I inhaled the Pure like a wild animal if wild animals ate skyr with passion.

Verdict?

SO GOOD.

tumblr_mleik5MNP61qckbrto1_500

what’s cuter than a mountain of skyr?
I don’t know. Ponies? Skyr ponies?
Probably.

In relation to the two pretty popular skyr brands that I’m familiar with, Skyr.is and Siggi’s, Smari tastes most similar to the former. It’s creamy and a little sour – in that perfect subtly sour skyr way.

I’m not much of a flavored yogurt girl myself – I flavor my own with peanut butter, jam, flax, and love – but Smari’s flavors are tasty without adding too many superfluous carbs or calories.

I hope I can find a place to buy Smari near me because I’d be all about making it my new go-to yogurt*. You can check if there’s a retailer in your area that carries Smari on their website and if there isn’t, maybe it’s time to making some threatening requests at your local grocery store.

*I love needing a “go-to yogurt.”

smari

MOLLY’S ERRRYDAY PROTEIN PACKED BREAKFAST BOWL
feeds 1 molly

ingredients:

  • 6 oz Smari Skyr – Pure
  • 2 oz lowfat cottage cheese
  • 1 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 tablespoon plum jam (or jam of your choice – but also, definitely plum)
  • 1/2 – 1 tablespoon ground flax (start small, work up to a tablespoon, I believe in you)

Mix it all together.

Eat it.

NUTRITION
Untitled-6

8 comments

  1. I’ve never heard of skyr before, but lo and behold I’ve got a retailer nearby! I may have to give it a try when I pick up coconut flakes to make coconut butter, mmmm,

    1. It’s so ridiculously good. I honestly can’t do Greek yogurt anymore now that skyr is in my life. That’s right. In my life.

  2. Oooh nice. I’ve been obsessed with yogurt in general lately so I definitely have to get my hands on this!

  3. You are funny and thank you, thank you for combining expletives and yogurt! (Rock on. I heart Smari’s yogurt, too!)

  4. Frozen kefir?!?! I want. I’m guessing you can buy this at Whole Foods? If not, where do you buy it? I tried some water kefir recently and looooved it. The dairy version kinda freaks me out, but if it tastes like ice cream, I’m down. Also, yay for protein-packed yogurt.

    1. Yup! Whole foods indeed.

      1. Thanks🙂

  5. […] And the aromas. It’s easy and quick to make, another solid way to utilize yogurt because we love yogurt, and full of vegetarian protein, not so many carbs, and just the cutest amount of fat. 5 grams […]

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

