Valentine’s Day Peanut Butter Spinach Cakes Two Ways


spinach cakes

It’s been way too long since I’ve put peanut butter where it doesn’t belong. And I’m not counting all those times I’ve slathered it on my face in a masque like fashion. Peanut butter definitely belongs there.

It’s been even longer since I last outlined my heart shaped food with a sriracha. What the hell have I been doing with my time? Clearly not enough.

I just want to make the love of my life Peanut Butter Spinach Cake Hearts!

last valentine's day, I gave you my heart.this time I made you some spinach. same thing.

last valentine’s day, I gave you my heart.
this time I made you some spinach.
same thing.

Spinach, peanut butter, and chili sauce, and spinach, pb, and nutritional yeast surprisingly compliment each other very nicely. I know it’s hard to trust someone who puts peanut butter in her cottage cheese and cottage cheese in her peanut butter, but just try. Plus, hello protein-y side dish! That’s the stuff love is made of. (Protein.)

the heart on the left is cheezy, the heart on the right is sweet and spicy.the heart in my chest is dangerously tasty.

the heart on the left is cheezy, the heart on the right is sweet and spicy.
the heart in my chest is dangerously tasty.

So here I go again. The Love Song of J Alfred Peanut Butter. Just in time for Valentine’s Day. Just in time to make me look not at all crazy.

Now who wants some spinach hearts?!!?

There are two versions here. One if you like cheeseless cheesy goodness, one if you’re not exactly a nutritional yeast enthusiast. Both peanut buttery. Thank god. I think I like the non-cheesy version better? But don’t let me tell you what’s what, let’s look at the tapes…

spinach cakes


SWEET and SPICY PEANUT BUTTER SPINACH CAKES
Makes 2 cakes

Ingredients:

  • A dab of oil or some cooking spray
  • 100g onions, diced
  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 10 ounces spinach
  • 2 tablespoons chili sauce (I’ve been crushing on Organic Ville Chili Sauce Made with Agave Nectar recently)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter (Once Again Crunchy Peanut Butter is my bitch)

You’re the sweetest chili sauce in my life…

Preheat your oven to 350. Mist your 2 adorable heart shaped baking tins with some cooking spray. Or you could just use some ramekins like a normal human being who doesn’t keep heart shaped baking tins around. Sigh.

In a wok, heat up your oil or cooking spray over medium heat. Toss in your onions and cook until transparent. Add in the garlic and red pepper flakes for another minute. Toss in the spinach and mix it about. As it begins to wilt and you get it all under control, add in the chili sauce and keep on cooking. Add your peanut butter and combine and junk. It’ll be really sticky so have yourself a good old time mixing it. Once everything seems mixed and cooked and done, transfer it to your prepared hearts/ramekins.

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove, let cool a bit, flip over onto a plate, dazzle your date by outlining it all with sriracha and love.

spinach cakes

CHEEZY PEANUT BUTTER SPINACH CAKES
Makes 2 cakes

Ingredients:

  • A dab of oil or some cooking spray
  • 10 ounces spinach
  • 2 ounces of soy milk
  • 24g nutritional yeast
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼ teaspoon onion powder
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons frank’s red hot (or whatever hot sauce you think could possibly be better even though that’s absurd)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter

Nothing says “I love you” like a lot of nutritional yeast and peanut butter…

Do all the things I told you to do for the last version to prepare the tins.

Combine your soy milk, nutritional yeast, garlic and onion powders, and salt and pepper in a small bowl. Set aside.

In your medium wok, heat up your dab of oil or cooking spray. Toss in your spinach and cook until it wilts a bit and is no longer taking over your kitchen/life. Pour in the nutritional yeast/milk creation and toss about so it fully coats the spinach. If your pan is too hot, it might stick to it so make sure that doesn’t happen? Add in the peanut butter and mix mix mix and cook cook cook. Once everything is fully incorporated and your spinach is cooked down, transfer your mixture to your two eagerly awaiting prepared hearts/ramekins.

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove, let cool a bit, flip over onto a plate, dazzle your date by outlining it all with sriracha and love. But whatever you do, absolutely don’t repeat yourself verbatim.

NUTRITION
nfp

3 comments

  1. just found you today ~ funny I was wondering what else I can do with peanut butter and siracha (besides putting both on toast and covering all w/ maple syrup) can’t wait to try your hearts!!

  2. holy hell these look amazing. I ADORE sriracha with pb – i even put it on my peanut butter banana sandwiches!

  3. […] Read all the instructions at quicheaweek […]

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

