Curry Coconut Tofu Soup


coconut curry tofu soup

It’s just another one of those days when a can of anything from a shelf somewhere needs to be made into a bowl of something. Hello, Coconut Milk. I’ve seen you around here before. Maybe everyday for the last month. You come here often/never leave. You spend a lot of time with the Sliced Water Chestnuts, huh? I’d like to do something about that. No one should have to spend so much time with that asshole.

Get the fuck off my shelf and get into my Curry Coconut Tofu Soup.

hey that’s all well and good but I’m going to go ahead and ignore everything else you have to say and go straight to the recipe…

sometimes I like to make my bowls have staring contests.other times, I have staring contests with my bowls. they're good.

sometimes I like to make my bowls have staring contests.
other times, I have staring contests with my bowls.
they’re good.

I never make soup. It’s true. SoupCat’s out of the bag. But I think after making this one, I might have to get more into it. Soup is so wonderful for making your messy my-roommate-hasn’t-been-home-for-the-last-week-and-I’ve-let-myself-go apartment smell like heaven. Curry coconut heaven. (Like there’s any other kind?) In fact, I keep going in and out of my apartment just so I can be repeatedly smacked in the senses by the goodness of it all. It is not at all making my dog homicidal. Nope. He’s adjusting. Adjusting to being homicidal.

this is a bird's eye view of my soup because birds are fucking crazy for soup.

this is a bird’s eye view of my soup because birds are fucking crazy for soup.

This soup is a little spicy, a little sweet, a lot good. Just like me. GOD I’M CUTE, RIGHT? Now stop putting chili garlic sauce on me!

how much do you love my window sill, right?the most? me neither.

how much do you love my window sill, right?
the most?
me neither.

CURRY COCONUT TOFU SOUP
makes 4 servings, 9oz or so each
inspired by Cooking Light’s Fiery Tofu and Coconut Curry Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 60g yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ¾ teaspoon ginger, grated
  • 60g shredded kale, divided
  • 1 14oz can light coconut milk
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 180g cauliflower florets
  • 1-2 tablespoons of thinly sliced pealed ginger
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala, divided
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • ½ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • a dash of salt
  • 9 ounces extra firm sprouted tofu, cubed
  • scallions, sliced for garnishing
  • a dab of chili garlic sauce

Soup, there it is:

In a big pot or a big wok (as I have lamented 1000 times already, I have exactly two pots in my arsenal of shitty kitchen equipment meaning everything I make can be made in a big wok), heat up your coconut oil. Toss in the onions with a ¼ teaspoon of garam masala and sauté a bit until the onions soften. Add in the garlic and grated ginger and cook for about 30 more seconds or until the garlic is fragrant but not at all burnt in the slightest nope never.

Toss in about half of the kale and continue to stir fry just until it wilts a bit. Add in the cauliflower, ginger slices, vegetable stock, and coconut milk. Season with the remaining garam masala, curry powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes. Salt and adjust the spices to taste.

Bring everything to a boil, cover, and reduce to a simmer for 25 minute or so.

Add in the tofu and the remaining half of kale (two slightly different textures of kale in one soup? I’m for it!) and simmer for another 5 minutes.

Serve with some sliced scallions and hot chili garlic oil if you’re into living dangerously. And maybe some peanuts, why not. Unless you are allergic to nuts. That would definitely be a good example of why not.

NUTRITION

soupnfp

13 comments

  1. I love meat, but I love tofu too. and curry. I am going to make this as soon as possible. (Well, after I eat the big pot of beef stew I made ^_^). I love your sense of humor too. Adding to my RSS reader under “Yum”.

  2. Mmm looks awesome. Unfortunately I feel about tofu the way you feel about water chestnuts, but I would so make this with some chicken. Nom nom..

    1. I have nothing against water chestnuts. They are just terrible at maintaining a decent conversation.

      1. Just for the record, that is a very Wildean response.

      2. Haha I’m flattered!

  3. MMMMMMMMMMMMM,…what a lovely & filling recipe!

  4. YUM! Looks awesome, I think I might try and make a variation of this tomorrow. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. […] adapted from Quiche a Week’s Curry Coconut Tofu Soup […]

  6. […] adapted from Quiche a Week’s Curry Coconut Tofu Soup […]

  7. […] sweet and savory soup is from Quiche a Week’s Curry Coconut Tofu Soup.  Since I thought it had some Thai flavors, I served it with Scallion Pancakes with Thai Dipping […]

  8. Wow this looks absolutely amazing! My mouth watered whilst reading the recipe – definitely going to give this a try! =)

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

