Mama Molly’s Cranberry Pomegranate Relish


There was a long time when I thought Mama Stamberg was one of my family members. It didn’t help that the only time I’d come across her Cranberry Relish recipe was when it appeared in a handmade cookbook made for me, typed out on Word and haphazardly cut out and glued to a page. I didn’t question the different last name that doesn’t appear anywhere on my family tree. Why would I? That lady made an incredible Cranberry Relish and I was proud to call her Someone-In-My-Family’s Mama.

finally. a whole ramekin of cranberry pomegranate relish all for me.
this has been a dream of mine since at least earlier this morning.

Then I realized I was an idiot.
Fuck you, Google. Dream murderer.

So I decided it’s time for a Mama Molly’s Relish recipe to wipe out the shame my fake family member fake caused me to fake endure. And because I live in the now and I am hip and young and fresh and wow, it’s going to include pomegranate seeds and sparkling pomegranate juice.

Don’t worry though. I am no one’s “Mama.” Unless you count being the mother of a extensive collection of yoga pants parenthood. Which I do.

sweet and tart.
just like my winning personality/candy necklace.

MAMA MOLLY’S CRANBERRY POMEGRANATE RELISH
FoodNetwork taught me the fundamentals of cranberry relish-ing.
Serves a bunch. 8? 8 hearty servings? I honestly have no idea what size a serving of cranberry relish would be.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of Kevita Sparkling Probiotic Pomegranate Juice, or regular old pomegranate juice
  • 6 packets of Truvia (you might need more if you use a plain pomegranate juice)
  • 12oz bag of fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 170g or so (one small container from Whole Foods, in other words) pomegranate arils
  • some grated ginger
  • horseradish (optional)

Mama Stamburg is no mama of mine and I’m only 100% disappointed:

In a large skillet or wok-like pan or saucepan, combine the pomegranate juice and Truvia and bring to a rolling boil. Add the cranberries and pomegranate arils and bring down to a simmer. Add the grated ginger and continue cooking until the cranberries are broken down a bit and the liquid has thickened/turned more like a sauce. Add another packet or so of sugar if you feel you need to. Remove from heat. Stir in horseradish if you want a little kick!

you could cut the sexual tension here with a turkey carving knife.

One comment

  1. I’ll have to try this.

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

