Plum Sorbet


per scoop: 32 calories // 11g carbs // 0g fat // 1g protein // 1g fiber // 7g sugar

If the guy behind artisan jam booth hadn’t casually forgotten how much his itty bitty jars of jam cost (‘That’ll be $5’ ‘Ok so your booth says $3?’ ‘Oh I mean $3’) and tried to pull the jam over my eyes, my trip to the Greenmarket at Union Square last Monday would have been just like every other time.

I get off the subway. I walk up the stairs. I am surrounded by vegetables and homemade grass-fed yogurt. I am overwhelmed. I am thinking about feeding yogurt some grass. I consider buying everything. I leave with one thing. And maybe some hot garlic jelly that was $3, not $5, you jerk. But mostly, I leave with one delicious thing.

Hello, one delicious thing:

I like my plums like I like my friends.
sweet, small, and covered in just a little bit of dirt.

Plums, man. Plums.

Like, a lot of plums. Like, what-do-I-do-with-all-these-plums-besides-putting-them-into-my-lunchbag-attached-with-a-note-telling-myself-not-to-trade-with-the-kids-who-got-cookies-in-their-lunchbags plums. Hyphens!

Photographing sorbet in direct sunlight: and exciting race against time similar to that chase scene in Mission Impossible through the tunnel.
But with a little more sorbet.

Well, you make Plum Sorbet, is what you do. When the Greenmarket at Union Square gives sells you a shit ton of plums for $5, you make it into icy goodness.

Nope. Not at all melting right before your eyes.
It’s just relaxing.

PS this is embarrassingly easy to make.

Pleasantly easy.
Just like me, 8 drinks in.

PPS I love you, honey. Don’t trade that plum I packed for a cookie and also hang in there kitty. xoxo

Honey, your sorbet boat is ready,
World’s Most Amazing Future Wife to Someone says cheerfully.

Plum Sorbet
ripped from Simply Recipes like Law & Order rips things from headlines
makes something like 6 scoops? Beats the hell out of me

Ingredients:

  • 2 ½ cups of plums, pitted and sliced
  • 6 packets of Truvia
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice
  • some zest from that lemon you butchered
  • pinch of salt

I’m still bummed about JamGate 2012 but I’ll fake it while we:

Puree all the ingredients in a blender. Strain through a fine sieve to remove the big pieces of plum skin. Toss in your ice cream maker. Make your sorbet. Mine took about half an hour or a little more of churning but also my apartment is an inferno. I hope yours is not.

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

