Deli-ish Salad: Spicy Eggless Tofu Salad


whole big recipe: 748 cals // 23g carbs // 57g fat // 37g protein // 6g fiber // 14g sugar

You can go back to sleep once you realize you’ve gotten ready two hours too early for work, but you’re completely dressed and adorable and ready to go. No dice. (You look so cute today, ps.)

You can watch tv, but you’ve seen enough episodes of the Today Show to kill lesser women.

So what’s left? Nothing? So close.

You can always make some (vegan) Spicy Eggless Tofu Salad*.

per wrap with fixins: 121 cals // 6g carbs // 8g fat // 5g protein // 1g fiber // 3g sugar

Since moving to Brooklyn, I have fallen in love with this brand called Nature Boy, fine purveyors of vegan deli salads, sandwiches and other foods with I think they’re lying copious amounts of vegan protein and I think they’re lying low carbs. But that stuff is crazy expensive and I’m rapidly descending into Broke-lyn (oof). This is my take on a combination of their eggless salad and faux tuna salad.

This is the coyest looking food I have ever made.
And I make so many coy looking foods.

Wrap this Spicy Eggless Tofu Salad in a leaf of cabbage and you have a low-carb, low-cal snack that definitely fills the vegan deli salad sandwich void. Or make 2 and you have a low carb + some protein-y lunch that will keep you full and happy. Even when you eat one you feel like you’re eating a lot, the wraps are so stuffed. Plus they are pretty. That’s important.

There’s an old saying that it takes two, baby. It takes two, baby. Make a dream come true. Just take two. Wraps.

So let’s get to making the most out of the hours we could have been sleeping…

Spicy Eggless Tofu Salad
Enough for 7 very stuffed cabbage leaf wraps

Let’s gather these vegan goodies:

  • 12 oz extra firm tofu
  • 1 14 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 14 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 28g blanched slivered almonds
  • 85g celery, diced
  • 75g radishes, diced
  • 3 tablespoons veganaise
  • 1 ½ tablespoon relish
  • 1 tablespoon sriracha (adjust for your own spicyness desires)
  • 1 teaspoon chili garlic sauce
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • dash of cayenne
  • 2 green onions, sliced thin for garnish
For wrapping
  • red cabbage leaves, raw or lightly boiled
  • sprouts
  • spinach
  • tomatoes
  • anything
  • super long chives

I’m going to blow this picture up to poster-size and hang it in my room above my bed.
Hello, unconventional form of birth control.

Let’s the-opposite-of-harm-animals now:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Drain and pat dry your block of tofu. After it’s as dry as you think it could possibly get, crumble it onto your parchment paper lined baking sheet. Spread it out so it’s not overlapping. Toss with your garlic and onion powders. Place in the oven for at least 30 minutes (I had to get going to work and stuff or I would have baked it a little longer than 30 minutes), tossing from time to time for even baking.

While your tofu is baking, prepare your veggies. In a food processor/ninja/magic bullet, pulse the almonds a few times to break them up only a little. Don’t turn them into dust! Add the celery, radishes, veganaise, relish, sriracha, chili garlic sauce, salt, cayenne, and pulse a while longer until the consistency is full combined but still crunchy.

Combine the cooled crumbled tofu with the spicy veganaise goodness. Top with green onions.

For the wrap:  Scoop a serving (I ended up with 7 servings, reflected as so in the nutrition info) of salad in a red cabbage leaf with whatever else you want to toss in there – spinach, sprouts, and tomatoes are my jam – and tie closed with a chive or two. Enjoy!

Real women eat Spicy Eggless Tofu Salad Wraps while watching the NBA Finals.
They also, from time to time, may have curves. Dunno.

So spicy! And crunchy! And I want to keep eating you forever! Of course the chili oil, sriracha and cayenne pack some heat but the radishes also add an awesome crunchy natural spiciness that I think should be in every deli salad ever. There, I said it.

LikeIsay, food isn’t food unless it’s tied closed with some chives.
In a bow.

Real egg salad grosses me out. So soft and yucky. Soft on soft on soft is not my idea of appetizing. So the addition of almonds and celery really make me happy and makes the texture a little more reminiscent of tuna salad. It’s why I added so much crunch and I baked the crumbled tofu. Girlfriend loves her variety of textures. Plus relish. Relish is amazing. Sweet and spicy and crunchy and baked tofu-y. Handheld. Love.

Plus I’m pretty excited to have another quick and easy meal option to add to my lunch break repertoire. Plus, it’s a hell of a lot cheaper than the $12 salads I can get in Manhattan. HIGHWAY CONGESTED CITY STREET ROBBERY.

(This recipe made way more cabbage-leaf-filling-goodness than I thought it would so I’ve been eating these wraps with some straight up gusto. Like twice a day. At least. This is where the term “Two-A-Days” comes from. I coined that. About vegan salad cabbage wraps. Yep. Shh.)

I’m at a loss for words.
Good thing I already wrote 1000 words about this wrap. Sigh.

*I’ve been struggling with publishing this post for one single reason: I cannot decide if this is more of a vegan egg salad or a vegan tuna salad. This is really, really troubling. So I’m just going to call it a Spicy Eggless Tofu Salad. A damn tasty one at that. Yeah. It’s pretty delish. (I. Slay. Me.) And if you have an opinion on which it is (my heart say egg salad?) please let me know!

4 comments

  1. Did you ever find out if the nutrition information on Nature Boy sandwiches is legit? It is kind of hard to believe… 40 grams of protein but only 275 calories when there are 2 slices of bread in there?! And it’s very filling. I’m kind of skeptical but I keep eating them anyway!

    1. I know!! Half of me doesn’t want to know the truth. More than half. All of me.

  2. I tried it about 2 years ago. It was hard to believe about nutrition info but it was tasty.
    I get it again now :
    Price become 50% more.
    It taste like wrap full of sh*t; (spicy chicken wrap)
    Smells not as bad as above mentioned but not good.

    Healthy food does not need to be so bad (may be it can since people ready to pay for that scam)

    In fact I think that good stake with egg (red meet) is healthier than that s**t egg less wrap. At least less conservants and processing. Besides stake is made by nature (Not by nature boy).

    I like tofu but not in that condition prepared by nature boys.

    Do not think that everything will go if labeled organic. Dogs sh*t is also pure organic.

    I

    1. *steak
      **nature girls
      ***So it was tasty the first time and the second time it made you angry? I think there may be other issues here😦

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Berry

Hotness, heart, humor and too much wine

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Chickpeas and Change

Feeding a revolution -- Formerly "farmers Market Vegan"

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Whisk Flip Stir

healthy vegan and vegetarian recipes

The Bootleg Cook

Recipes, restaurants and randoms from waaaaay out East

Sun In Bloom

Gluten-Free, Vegan & Raw Food Kitchen in Brooklyn & Tribeca

