Peanut Butter & Jelly & Sriracha Chocolate Chip Cookies [vegan]


peanut butter and jelly and sriracha chocolate chip cookies

So there’s this bar by my apartment called South. It’s right next to another bar and a block away from another bar and two blocks to the right of another 4 other bars and 3 blocks to the left of 2 more bars and it’s not the bar I live above.

Do you see what I’m doing here? Are you grasping the geography of my neighborhood? It’s saturated with bars. If you dig deep enough into the earth, amber colored geysers shoot straight up in the air and you have no choice but to yell “yeehaw!” and tip your stetson. Since when do you wear stetsons anyways? Whatever. Liquor. Liquor everywhere.

skip to the recipe and past my incredibly thoughtfully written story about drinking and eating and eating and drinking…

pbjs

Each of these bars have something specific going for them. They have to – I mean my shitty Jack and Diet Cokes taste equally shitty no matter where I go. From giant fish tanks behind the bar, to horrible interior decorating, to serving beer at 8am on saturdays for soccer games, to excessive gardens, to a full menu served til 4am, to having the worst set of regulars anyone has ever come across who are always fucking loitering always, these places have it all. Or rather, they all have like one thing.

But South is my favorite for exactly two gimmicky reasons: free popcorn and Peanut Butter and Jelly and Jalapeno Sandwiches.

"I wonder if I have a photo of the peanut butter and jelly and jalapeno sandwich on my phone?" I asked myself, knowing full well that I of course have not one but two photos of the PBJ+J on my phone because apparently taking photos of PBJ+Js is second only to excessive text messaging on my list of "shit molly does when she's had too much to drink and will only somewhat regret in the morning."

“I wonder if I have a photo of the peanut butter and jelly and jalapeno sandwich on my phone?” I asked myself, knowing full well that I of course have not one but two photos of the PBJ+J on my phone because apparently taking photos of PBJ+Js is second only to excessive text messaging on my list of “shit molly does when she’s had too much to drink and will only somewhat regret in the morning.”

There have been countless (seriously though, countless – I definitely don’t black out or anything ever) times that I have gone out for the night with the sole intention of getting drunk enough to stop for a PBJ+J sandwich on my way home. And when I set my mind to something, I fucking deliver. Or at least I’m pretty sure I do because I always wake up tasting like ketchup and happiness.

Anyways, it’s an unlikely pairing and at first it sounds disgusting. Maybe even on second thought it does too. But you’re wrong. You’re so wrong, you stupid jerk. Buttered white bread, Jiff peanut butter, grape jelly, jarred jalapeno slices – all pressed in a panini maker to make one heavenly 3am treat. It’s just perfectly sweet and spicy and crunchy and really fucking good. Douse it in some ketchup as I am wont to do and you’ll have me in nearly an orgasmic state. I’ve brought a lot of people with me to South to eat one of these at various times of night and no one has ever been disappointed. I mean, not that I can remember.

pbj+s

So that’s the long and winding story about the inspiration behind these cookies and the many bars I drink many, many drinks at.

These cookies were my final half dozen in a long series of experimental stop-being-so-damn-dry half dozen sets. I’ve been eating a hell of a lot of dough all day and I have the stomach cramps to prove it.

On to the cookies!

pbj+s

PEANUT BUTTER and JELLY and SRIRACHA CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
makes just 6 cookies

ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter (you can use all PB if you want, I just think it was a little drier that way)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons vegan butter
  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed mixed with 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha
  • 15g (32 chips if you’re an obsessive psycho) dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons or so of your favorite jam which is clearly plum preserves because hot damn that shit is tasty

the only place sriracha doesn’t belong is in my eyeballs. I mean unless I’m eating my own eyeballs…

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.

In your mixer, combine the tahini, peanut butter (or just peanut butter) and maple syrup. Add the vanilla, flax and water mixture, and almond milk and mix til fully combined. Add the flour mixture and mix until just incorporated. Add the sriracha and mix until your dough is a solid reddish. Mix in your chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.

Using an ice cream scoop, scoop mounds of cookies onto the prepared baking sheet. Press them down lightly with your palm to flatten them into ½” disks. Use a spoon or just your thumb or whatever to make a little indent in the center of each cookie. Spoon a little jam in there. Bake for 11-12 minutes or until the edges of the cookies are just lightly browned.

NUTRITION

nfp

7 comments

  1. That is definitely the strangest cookie I’ve ever heard of… but I also had friends who liked peanut butter and pickle sandwiches, so I can’t say I’m super surprised.

  2. Breaux · · Reply

    When I was a teenager, I had a friend who at pbm — that would be peanut butter and mayo — sandwiches. That’s what his mom had made for him when he was young, and he continued eating them into adolescence. He’d never eaten a pbj sandwich, but he thought it sounded promising.
    We’re still close friends.

  3. Wow this is pretty impressive. And South sounds like fun!

    I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award on my blog BTW. Check it out :) http://chezsasha.com/2013/05/02/the-liebster-blog-award/

  4. Whhhaaat, sriracha? Crazy!

  5. These are awesome. I doubled the recipe with no problem. Also probably tripled the chocolate chips.
    I’ve had another version in which the sriracha was very hard to detect, but this was a perfect amount.
    Question- At what stage do you add the butter? I didn’t see it in the actual recipe instructions, so when the batter was all mixed up I just kind of plopped it in with everything else. I figured it went somewhere in the mix.
    Thanks for this! Also- heavy on the jam FOR SURE. You think it’s gonna be too many flavors and then the jam is what you’re left wanting more of.

  6. This is the bomb. I’ve had another version of these which were a lot floppier and you could barely taste the sriracha. So great job! Ya nailed it!
    I doubled the recipe (and probably tripled the amount of chocolate chips) with excellent results.
    One question – there’s vegan butter in the ingredients list but you don’t say where in the process to add it. I kind of just added it to the mix when it was all said and done and that seemed fine.
    Thanks for this, really fun. I have 2 vegan friends getting married and another bud is making a cookbook for them. This was my addition and I’m really siked to share it with them.
    Final thought to fellow readers- heavy on the jam! I thought there’d be too many flavors but the jam is definitely what you’re left wanting more of.

    1. Ooo good catch. If I remember correctly, you would add the butter with the tahini and the PB and syrup in that first step. I’d probably melt it too to make it mix in a little easier.

Leave a Reply

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

theBERRY

That's What She Saw | Berry Love

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

get busy in the kitchen with me

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Farmers Market Vegan

Kale & chickpeas with a side of social justice.

Pb & Jess

Having my PB&J and eating it too

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Kristens Kreations

Welcome to My Kitchen

whisk flip stir

Vegetarian comfort food, because it's rough out there.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,655 other followers

