Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Stuffed Chocolate Chip Muffins


cookie muffins

Oh you know, just another one of those walking-through-Whole-Foods-on-Christmas-Eve moments of clarity and awe-inspiring brilliance.

Yeah. I was strolling around Whole Foods on Christmas Eve (further known as “Not My Holiday”) when I decided I needed to make some Chocolate Chip Muffins with Oatmeal Raisin Cookies – inside them.

move along, nothing to see here, off to the recipe…

these were those moments when my goodies made love to the camera.take that as you wish.

these were those moments when my goodies made love to the camera.
take that as you wish.

Being a visionary is exhausting.

Eating Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Stuffed Chocolate Chip Muffins is less exhausting.

a quiet moment.they say so little. while saying so much.

a quiet moment.
they say so little.
while saying so much.

They’re vegan, not too calorie heavy (Lily’s Stevia Sweetened Chocolate lends a helping hand), and for two carby goodies piled into one mega carby goodie, they’re not even all that carby. I know. “Carby” is both a real and a respected word in the English language. That’s why I used it. I mean, they even have 4g of fiber each. Thrilling!

Oh and they seem hilariously gluttonous which is great because I find nothing more hilarious than gluttony. Except maybe sloth. That shit is uproarious.

these might as well be surgically attached to my hands because I have not been able to stop eating them.speaking of which, I'm looking to get some cookie stuffed muffins surgically attached to my hands. if you know anyone.

these might as well be surgically attached to my hands because I have not been able to stop eating them.
speaking of which, I’m looking to get some cookie stuffed muffins surgically attached to my hands.
if you know anyone.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Stuffed Chocolate Chip Muffins
makes 18 stuffed muffins
muffin recipe adapted from AllRecipes.com, cookie recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen’s Thick, Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients:

MUFFIN BATTER

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 12 packets Truvia
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons coconut oil, in liquid form
  • 4 oz unsweetened applesauce
  • ¾ cup unsweetened almond coconut milk (or “milk” of your choice)
  • 1 Lily’s Dark Chocolate Sweetened with Stevia 80g Bar, coarsely chopped

OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIE DOUGH

  • cup whole wheat flour
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • a dash of nutmeg
  • a dash of allspice
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil, in liquid form
  • 2 oz unsweetened applesauce
  • ¼ cup date sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • 45g raisins

ASSEMBLY

  • a set of silicone muffin cups

 

My favorite hybrid dessert is cake stuffed cake with cake inside of it:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Hope and pray your smoke detector doesn’t go off like absolutely always. Have your prayers answered.

MAKE THE MUFFIN BATTER:

In a medium bowl, combine your dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, salt, Truvia, and chocolate chunks – and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine your wet ingredients – coconut oil, applesauce and milk – until smooth.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until just incorporated. Girl gonna be sticky. Don’t even worry about it.

MAKE THE COOKIE DOUGH:

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice.

Get out another medium bowl. Mix together your coconut oil, applesauce, vanilla extract, and date sugar until smooth.

Add your dry ingredients to your wet ingredients and stir until fully mixed. Add in the oats. Add in the raisins.

ASSEMBLY:

Fill a silicone muffin cup about ¼ of the way with muffin batter. Roll up a little less than a tablespoon or so of cookie dough and press it on top the muffin batter in the muffin cup. Top with more muffin batter, filling the cup about ¾ full. Stick in the oven for 22 minutes or so. Remove, cool, destroy.

I sacrificed this muffin to show you its glorious insides.then I sacrificed 6 or 7 more to show them my insides. for science.

I sacrificed this muffin to show you its glorious insides.
then I sacrificed 6 or 7 more to show them my insides.
for science.

NUTRITION:

nfp

4 comments

  1. I have eaten these — perhaps far too many — cupcakes and can vouch for their deliciousness.

  2. Thank you for sacrificing. For our sake, I’m sure:)

  3. Waw! They look so appetizing & are all vegan too! Yeah!!!
    I am not a vegan but do cook, bake & eat vegan 5x/week! I also blog about it! Greets from a Belgian foodie!

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

theBERRY

That's What She Saw | Berry Love

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

Baking Science Made Easy

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Farmers Market Vegan

Kale & chickpeas with a side of social justice.

Pb & Jess

Having my PB&J and eating it too

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Kristens Kreations

Welcome to My Kitchen

whisk flip stir

Vegetarian comfort food, because it's rough out there.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,181 other followers

