Cookies and Bananas Foster Cream Pie [vegan]


Do you ever always fixate on something completely and utterly and absolutely necessary to your everyday well-being? Weird. I’ve been fixated on Bananas Foster recently too. I’ve been making some variation of it for three days straight. If there are bananas in my kitchen, there is Bananas Foster in my frying pan. It’s just that simple. So I had to figure out a way to harbor my bananas foster obsession for good. And this Cookies and Bananas Foster Cream Pie is probably the goodest good has ever been.

jump to recipe

Is that an abstract chocolate flower or a mistake in tin foil pie hat construction and execution?
I’m just happy to see you.

This pie is maybe my favorite thing I’ve ever made for this blog and I want to make it 1000 times more. I love this recipe because the Bananas Foster sugary goodness goes such a long way in flavoring both the cream and the cookie dough crust. That means you hardly have to add any excess sugar after the initial caramelizing of the bananas. Nothing goes to waste here. (Shout out to our Native American ancestors, yo. I made a delightful hat out of the banana peels in your honor.)

and like a proud parent,
the mini deep dish bananas foster cream pie looked upon its severed slice.
raising a pie is a challenging task, it thought.
As I ate it.

And you know what? I’m not going to touch on the point that I don’t even like bananas particularly much (one time I tried to eat one after the gym? And I got halfway through before realizing that this was not what I wanted to be doing with my life? And so I threw away the other half and immediately felt overwhelmingly guilty? Do bananas do this to everyone? I’m new to them?)  Nope. Not gonna touch on that.

Because lez b real. People eat Bananas Foster because of sugar and butter and sugar and butter. And people eat pie because duh.

I took these photos before work and then when I went to work I wanted pie all day and then I was all like, this happens entirely too often.
And where’s my pie?

I wanted to showcase my take on Bananas Foster in a Molly way so clearly I made a Cookies and Bananas Foster Cream Pie. Like there’s any other option, right? I also set off my smoke detector without creating any smoke whatsoever so I can only assume the smoke detector was cheering me on. Thanks, friend.

Ingredient note: I didn’t use and banana liqueur because I’m not ready to invest in banana liqueur. I also used date sugar for this instead of my normal Truvia because this is such a sugar necessary dish that I figured it’d be better off replacing the majority of the brown sugar with another real sugar. Plus “date sugar” sounds some sort of innuendo for “stuff I’m going to put in my date’s drink without her noticing” and other absurd things.

feel that tingle?
that’s the bananas foster obsession creeping into your brain and nestling into its sweet, sweet new home.

COOKIES AND BANANAS FOSTER CREAM PIE
makes 10-12 deep super deep slices or 10-12 normal slices + one deep dish mini pie, see Nutrition Facts for more info
Adapted from AllRecipes.com and this Tofu Banana Cream Pie recipe

Ingredients:

  • 14oz silken tofu
  • 3 medium sized bananas (350ish g), quartered
  • 4 tablespoons vegan buttery sticks
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 4 teaspoons date sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • ¾ cup oat flour (or whichever flour you desire)
  • ¼ cup almond flour/meal (see above)
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ – ½ cup rolled oats
  • 4 oz unsweetened applesauce
  • 15g extra dark chocolate chips (about 32 chips)
  • optional: some more chocolate mixed with a dab of coconut oil, melted, dripped on top (I used a a square of a Lindt 70% Cocoa chocolate bar to splatter on top)

 

This is clearly the way everyone recovers from Black Friday, right?

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease/spray the bottom of a pie pan or a spring form ban or whatever vehicle you’re using.

Drain your tofu and pat dry. Wrap it in some paper towels and let it dry some more.

In a frying pan, melt your buttery sticks over medium high heat. Add the sugars, vanilla, cinnamon, and 2 tablespoons of water. Stir it about until everything is well incorporated with the butter and bubbling a little. Add the bananas, flat cut sides down, so they’re not overlapping. Let them cook like that for a couple minutes until the bottoms begin to brown and look heavenly. Flip them over (it’s okay if they stick together or get misshapen at this point, we’re mushing them later anyways) and let them cook for another few minutes. When you’re happy with your level of browning, remove the pan from the heat.

This part is important. Remove the bananas from the pan and into a bowl or something with slatted spoon. Do not just pour everything into a bowl. You are retaining the left over butter and sugar and wonderfulness for the crust.

In a medium bowl, combine the flours, rolled oats, baking soda, and salt.

Transfer your retained buttery sugary liquid to a standing mixer. Mix until it’s well combined again and add the applesauce. Mix until combined. Slowly add the dry mixture in parts. Mix until smooth. I used ¼ cup of rolled oats but if your mixture is too wet, feel free to add another ¼ cup.

Press the cookie dough mixture into your prepared pie pan or whatever pan. Cover the whole bottom as evenly as you can (you can go up the edges too if you like. I did not like.). Press in the chocolate chips. Pop in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until the crust is golden.

While the crust is baking, toss your tofu in a food processor. Process it until it’s smooth. Add the bananas foster goodness and puree until it’s all combined and delicious.

When the crust has cooled, spoon the cream mixture into it. At this point you can either throw it in the fridge as is or splatter it with some melted chocolate like I did because you consider yourself a young Jackson Pollock and wait a few hours for it to firm up. Whatever you choose, make sure to pick up your laundry while you wait. It’s been there a week and what are you, some sort of vagrant?

NUTRITION INFO:
I made one 9″ pie from this recipe PLUS one 4″ or so springform pan mini pie. I bet I used somewhere between 2/3 and 3/4 of the recipe for the main pie and the remainder for the mini pie. If you use all the dough and cream to make one pie, you will have a delightfully deep dish pie. I’ve included the nutrition facts for one deep dish pie that serves 12, one 2/3 pie that serves 10, and one 1/3 mini pie that serves 4. Chocolate splatter not included.
That was confusing. I am sorry.

8 comments

  1. Looks good. However, next time try using banana liqueur. Call me in the morning if it still hurts.

    1. Next time I’m just going to pour myself a tall glass of bourbon and see if the bananas can flambe themselves. I trust them.

  2. I’ve never heard of this pie before but I’m so pleased to have you introduce it to me! :) Vegan deliciousness and simple to make. Win-win!
    Thank you for sharing this with us. I think I need to make one, stat!

    1. I’m shocked other people don’t eat Vegan Bananas Foster made into cream pies more often. Shocked.

      Have fun making (and eating) it! Report back on your success!

  3. MMMMMM,..What a georgous & stunning looking pie! Yummy too!

  4. I have bananas to use, and love this recipe!! Only thing is that I recently discovered I may be gluten intolerant (which is a HUGE bummer… But I’m looking to make the best of it, dammit).

    Can you give some suggestions on how to make the crust gluten-free for someone who’s new to that kind of recipe modification?? I was considering just buying gf cookies to crumble and make the crust with, but wouldn’t mind any tips/tricks that you may have on hand.

    Thanks!

    1. You could use specifically gf oats and any sort of basic (not too flavor heavy) gf flour instead of the oat flour. But the cookie idea sounds pretty tasty too.

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

theBERRY

That's What She Saw | Berry Love

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

A Science of Baking Blog

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Farmers Market Vegan

Kale & chickpeas with a side of social justice.

Pb & Jess

Having my PB&J and eating it too

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Kristens Kreations

Welcome to My Kitchen

whisk flip stir

Vegetarian comfort food, because it's rough out there.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,183 other followers

