Apple Pie Ice Cream [vegan]


If you’re anything like me, you spent your Hurricane Sandy day of cooped up madness brainstorming Thanksgiving recipe ideas. Typical. Typical cabin fever behavior. Some people have sex, some people think about vegan Apple Pie Ice Cream. It’s almost the same thing when you squint/eat ice cream mid-coitus.

click to jump to recipe

smart people stock up on ce cream instead of bottled water when they prepare for a storm.
fact: the ice cream: eaten. The water: untouched. I win, Sandy.

This might not be my healthiest recipe on this site but it is substantially healthier than most ice creams out there, especially ones of the mix-ins variety. Compare it to Cold Stone Creamery’s French Vanilla with Apple Pie mix-ins of equal serving size and my vegan Apple Pie Ice Cream has 120 less calories, 3g less fat, half the carbs, and almost 75% less sugar. Sweetened almost entirely by the natural sugars from the apples, mine even has some fiber in every serving. That Cold Stone’s has no fiber at all makes me wonder if there are actually any apples in that apple pie mix in…

often I think of dousing myself in agave, raisins, and almond slices.
so then I do exactly that because I’m a doer. And sticky. I’m really, really sticky. Bees like me too.

Oh and mine’s vegan. Because there’s been a can of light coconut milk in my kitchen begging for attention for entirely too long. And it’s sad to see a grown can beg.

All the nutrition has been calculated without the little dots of raisins, sliced almonds, and agave toppings but as long as you’re sensible, they won’t change the nutrition facts in any life altering way. And the toppings really do complete the apple pie feel so just do it. Peer pie pressure is a real thing, guys.

if every household had an ice cream machine, we’d be a lot worse off than we are currently.
So be thankful. And a little jealous.

PS now I can add Apple Pie Ice Cream to the long list of things-lodged-in-the-crevices-of-my-camera. It pairs nicely with the melted chocolate and pumpkin puree. Oh fall. Oh irresponsibility.

I have more hands than you think I have.
Mind: blown.

 

APPLE PIE ICE CREAM
serves 4
100g per serving

Ingredients:

  • 2 apples (Galas worked nicely), peeled, cored, and sliced into thin pieces
  • 1 ½ tablespoons virgin coconut oil
  • ¼ cup certified gluten-free rolled oats (I swear I’ll finish this bag. One day. Feel free to use normal rolled oats if you don’t need gluten-free things.)
  • 1 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ground ginger
  • 1 can (13.5oz) light coconut milk (you can use full fat too for a richer ice cream but you’ll have more calories and well…fat)
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • Optional Toppings: raisins, sliced almonds, walnuts, agave

I Survived Hurricane Sandy and All I got was Stir Crazy:

In a small bowl, mix ½ tablespoon coconut oil with your rolled oats. Heat up the remaining tablespoon of coconut oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Toss the apple slices in and move about til they’re fully coated. Add in the oats mixture. Add in your vanilla sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to the mix and cook until the apples are softened and your kitchen smells like heaven.

Whisk together your coconut milk and cornstarch. Add to the pan of apples along with the packet of Truvia and bring it to a boil as you stir everything about. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

Prepare according to your ice cream machine directions. I preferred my ice cream in its creamier soft serve state but if you want something with more substance, freeze away. Something tells me that the full fat coconut milk might make for better hard ice cream but this light coconut milk makes delightful soft serve.

Top with various apple pie accoutrements. Just to reiterate, remember not to be too heavy handed and you’ll still have a healthy treat.

4 comments

  1. Yummy. This looks and sounds delicious. I love these fall flavors. I just have to be careful not to get too cold when eating ice cream in fall / winter ;)

  2. […] I had pie on the brain. Yesterday pumpkin, today apple pie! Well, to be honest the husband said I should make an apple pie ice cream. So I used my Google-fu and found a recipe over at Quiche A Week. […]

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

theBERRY

That's What She Saw | Berry Love

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

Baking Science Made Easy

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Farmers Market Vegan

Kale & chickpeas with a side of social justice.

Pb & Jess

Having my PB&J and eating it too

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Kristens Kreations

Welcome to My Kitchen

whisk flip stir

Vegetarian comfort food, because it's rough out there.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,181 other followers

