Super Cookies


I’m trying this new thing where I don’t put the nutrition facts in a completely absurd and missable place (precisely here) anymore.
Change is hard.
I’m so lost.

A secret identity is crucial for super heroes, fathers who have second families, and Super Cookies. Those three things and those three things only.

So what makes these cookies super?

I definitely don’t use parchment paper because I’m too lazy to clean cookie sheets.
Nope.
I use it because I hate the environment.

Lentils.

There’s a secret inside me!
Is not a weird thing to say out loud to an empty room.

You read right.
With two eyes and very little squinting.
Like a champ.

One day I’m going to build a stack of cookies to the moon.

I found some lentils on a shelf in my kitchen and I had a good 13 second moment (minor stroke?) of clarity where I just stood around staring at a can on a shelf and not looking at all crazy.

Mashed lentils = vegan cookie success.

They say that cracks in cookies are the windows to cookie souls.
I say “shut up and feed me more souls.”

Not only do the lentils make for an awesome cookie texture, they aso provide some extra natural protein and fiber to the mix.

And then there is the quinoa flour and the chia seeds and the wheat germ (which I accidentally mistyped as “what germ” triggering a giggle fit) adding to the Super Cookies superiority of superdom. I mean, chia seeds are the nipple impressions on George Clooney’s bat suit of this recipe. You can’t have Super Cookies without those.

Super Cookies

WE’RE GONNA NEED A BIGGER COOLING RACK.

The Super Cookies moniker is an improvement on my original name for these cookies, Nutritionally-Boosted Crazy Moist Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies (NBCMVCCC to the kids) if only for the absence of the word “moist.” The words “Nutritionally-Boosted” alone are polarizing. And the word “polarizing” is kinda uppity. But NBCMVCCC is exactly what they are. I made them in 4 different sizes, marking the nutritional facts of each for no apparent reason except to compare my 50g cookies with that of commercially made 50g cookies. Let’s take a peak at Super Cookies vs some Not-So-Super Cookies…

How bout them carbs! The glaring difference here is 82 less calories BUT 13g less in Super Cookies on top of that? I’ll take it. 2g extra fiber means your digestive system will be thanking me all the way to the theoretical digestion bank. And like duh my cookies have more protein. Case closed. Super Cookies supered.

Cookie Snowmen are as charming as charming gets.
It’s like that really bad show “Charmed” but it doesn’t make me wish I was dead.

So thank goodness these cookies can just go around parading themselves as Super Cookies. And parade they will. Now who wants nipple friendly bat suits?!

Let’s put you in my mouth now.

SUPER COOKIES
makes 10 50g cookies, 13 38g cookies, 20 25g cookies, or 25 20g cookies

Super Ingredients:

  • 32g wheat germ
  • 84g quinoa flour (or flour of your choice)
  • 12g chia seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 112g peanut butter (I use Naturally More peanut butter + flax seed and omega 3)
  • 6 packets Truvia
  • 64g brown sugar
  • 100g canned lentils, mashed
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 85g mini chocolate chips

Superiority goes like this:

Preheat your oven to 375. Line some cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Combine your first 5 ingredients in a bowl and whisk until mixed well together. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine your peanut butter and sugars and mash mash mash until the sugar’s fully incorporated. Add the mashed lentils and mix mix mix. Dump in the vanilla. Add half the dry mixture and mix it all about. Add the rest of the dry stuff and, you guessed it, mix! Work in your chocolate chips.

Form your cookies into whichever size you’re aiming for onto the cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes.

Cool on the sheet then on a rack then in your mouth.

12 comments

  1. Haha you are crazy. But I love it. These’ll be a SUPER pair with my chocolate chickpea cake thingamabob.

    1. Aw thanks! And chocolate chickpea cake thingamabob sounds like a winner if only for its title.

  2. I like making things with crazy ingredients and love when it turns out. These look awesome. Although I’d have to make them without my kids around – they’ll be none the wiser.

    If I am making muffins for example. My oldest son will say “what kind?” I say “chocolate chip” (but there is also silken tofu, wheat germ, ground flax seed, etc….) They usually eat it anyway!

  3. Kirk Rush · · Reply

    They look good, but what can be used instead of the wheat germ? I can’t have gluten.

    Thanks,

    Kirk

    1. just take it out! add a little more flour or protein powder or some ground flax to make up for it. The recipe is definitely not dependent on the wheat germ.

  4. I think I’ll have to try these no matter what, but I need to set my expectations up: does the lentil texture take over here? I try to add mashed lentils into a lot of things for the whole nutrition thing, and if it’s super hidden it works well, but otherwise, there is too much mush. Professional opinion?

    1. It doesn’t take over, but rather only improves them. I don’t think you’d ever know they had lentils in them unless you were told in advance. But you also wouldn’t be able to quite put your finger on what’s making them slightly different.

  5. Kirk Rush · · Reply

    Have you tried using another kind of bean like black beans or chickpeas?

    Kirk

    1. I have not but I think they’d probably do just fine. It’s that pureed bean texture that makes the cookies so good – the lentil flavor itself is hardly present.

  6. I wonder if I could freeze the dough and it would still turn out ok?

  7. […] Protein Super Cookies – In the past, I’ve used black beans to make chocolate brownies, so the idea of using […]

Leave a Reply

thom:::woodley

films::ads::stories::content

Brooklyn Porridge Co.

comfort food redefined

Keepin' It Kind

Kind Food. Kind World.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

theBERRY

That's What She Saw | Berry Love

saucysmile

Where the belly rules the mind!

Baker Bettie

Baking Science Made Easy

Food Fitness Fresh Air

Devoted to taste, health and happiness

Farmers Market Vegan

Kale & chickpeas with a side of social justice.

Pb & Jess

Having my PB&J and eating it too

Cupcake Artist

One bite is never good enough

Vegan Shop-Up

an all vegan pop-up market

my little happies

here is where i explore all the little adventures and happenings in my life that make me happy.

Kristens Kreations

Welcome to My Kitchen

whisk flip stir

Vegetarian comfort food, because it's rough out there.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,528 other followers

